As in Little Miss Genius? Perhaps….perhaps…

Since I got home early from jury duty yesterday, I thought, “Why not call that teacher from Local Neighborhood School back and try and get LMNOB’s placement testing done this afternoon?” Because I am so smart like that.

Wouldn’t you know, that worked just fine.

I brought in LMNOB’s report card, showing she’d mastered all of her letter recognition, phonics, etc, as well as her ITBS score report – so that we could skip all of that and cut straight to the chase with her reading group placement.

So we go in and LMNOB, while shy and reading in her tight-I-don’t-want-you-to-hear-me-voice, BLEW through all of the 1st grade material the teacher had. Then, LMNOB didn’t bat an eye at the 2nd grade book either!

I knew LMNOB was a good reader, but I guess once she took off with it, I took for granted the level of books which she reads – they are not chapter books, after all. I chalked it up to the whole, “The things kindergarteners are doing in school now, I don’t remember touching until at least 2nd grade” phenomenon. Nevertheless, I was beaming with pride!

The teacher was VERY impressed, and said, at 5:30pm – now long past her hours of testing, “We haven’t been able to challenge her to the point of me knowing just where she belongs, but we’ve got a great starting place for whoever ends up being her homeroom teacher. I see LMNOB doing more independent work for reading, and because she is so good with the phonics, it will be focused more on comprehension – reports and the like on topics of her interest.”

I’m so proud of her. My Little Miss Genius.

